Absent

“That was kind of the point”

When I lost the rest of you

The parts I loved, the past I shamed

And the future that we never truly knew

In dope sickness leading to my next tattoo, a rescheduled court date

And the truth;

Hearing responses to my thoughts and not the first few lines I missed

Still I was left somewhat unconvinced

In a loss of all rhythm the future came and went

(Somewhere I couldn’t go)

Some miles away, and my soul felt, even still, further absent

So I wrote.

Leave a Reply

