Day Twenty

A fateful rendition,

and I wish you’d just listen

when I tell you it’s better here

on this side, in this way, so

baby why you choosing fear?

I’m finally alive and staying clear

despite the face you’re nowhere near

but Sweetheart I am so sincere

I’ll take you there, on severed wings

broken, fleeting, fragile things

I know it’s hard and I can’t be mean

I know it’s something that can’t be screened

and through all these days I’ve seen

it’s better to be slowly weened

now weathered and demeaned

though all along I’ve said same team

still it’s better to be free

set your wild soul at ease

and baby you can always find me

beneath the foot of spiraled trees

loving you harder until you can see

on day twenty

Leave a Reply

